Chown fail fix - #1287
Open
karypid wants to merge 2 commits into
Open
Conversation
Prefer parsing a numeric user spec directly from config and only fall back to resolving named users via a throwaway container, producing an explicit --userns=keep-id:uid=...,gid=... mapping. Add tests and config fixtures for numeric and named keep-id cases.
Author
|
This is a complement to fix #1284 I have separated the PRs as they are orthogonal. Both are needed for correct operation when the host UID/GID is abnormally high (as is the case when using SSSD or FreeIPA). |
This file contains hidden or bidirectional Unicode text that may be interpreted or compiled differently than what appears below. To review, open the file in an editor that reveals hidden Unicode characters.
Learn more about bidirectional Unicode characters
Sign up for free
to join this conversation on GitHub.
Already have an account?
Sign in to comment
Add this suggestion to a batch that can be applied as a single commit.This suggestion is invalid because no changes were made to the code.Suggestions cannot be applied while the pull request is closed.Suggestions cannot be applied while viewing a subset of changes.Only one suggestion per line can be applied in a batch.Add this suggestion to a batch that can be applied as a single commit.Applying suggestions on deleted lines is not supported.You must change the existing code in this line in order to create a valid suggestion.Outdated suggestions cannot be applied.This suggestion has been applied or marked resolved.Suggestions cannot be applied from pending reviews.Suggestions cannot be applied on multi-line comments.Suggestions cannot be applied while the pull request is queued to merge.Suggestion cannot be applied right now. Please check back later.
When podman maps a high ID to a low ID there is no need to
chownthe workspace. Inside podman the low ID applies both to user (vscode by default, 1000), as well as the mounted workspace.This complimentary logic makes sure to behave as
updateRemoteUserUID: falseOnce again, if any explicit user configuration is present it will override this "internal default" change so everything is backwards compatible.